3/9/10

Mistwood, by Leah Cypess --giveaway!

No Timeslip Tuesday today...Blackout, by Connie Willis, travelled south with me but remained unopened...The Puzzle Ring, by Kate Forsyth, was opened, but I'm still in the middle of it.

But I do want to recommend the one book out of the 10 I took with me that I did read and enjoy despite the sad way I spent my weekend--Mistwood, by Leah Cypess (Harper Collins, April 27, 2010, 303 pp in ARC form). It's the story of Isabel, a shapeshifter who is, despite her inhuman powers and an agenda that has no room for love, one of the most endearing characters I've read in ages. There's lots of political intrigue, magic, and just enough romance, and it is a true page turner.

Cypess does an extraordinarily deft job of keeping the reader inside Isabel's point of view--like her, we aren't sure who to trust, what machinations are at work, and to whom she should give her loyalty. She's built her world with enough solidity to make it work, while avoiding information dumps, and her magic is kept nicely subservient to the plot, rather than being overwhelmingly over explained. Since all of this is done in rather lovely writing (and the aforementioned romance is rather a nice one), the result is a book to squee for.

I agree with the back of the ARC that this is one for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner*, although it felt less Dense then either of those--it seemed a faster, lighter read. Which is not bad--sometimes one wants a rich layer cake, sometimes a fruit tart, and both types of books/deserts offer their own type of complexity.

I packed Mistwood on the strength of Angie's glowing review, and it was just the sort of book I needed. I am pretty sure that I will put this on my Christmas present list, and so I would like to pass my ARC on to another reader. Leave me a comment by midnight on the 15th of March, and it could be yours.

*ha--I just saw on her website that Queen of Attolia is listed as one of her favorite books! I am not surprised.

And the winner, produced by random number generation, is Kathy! (I'll be emailing you...)

(ARC picked up at ALA midwinter)

32 comments:

  1. Any book that's compared to Megan Whalen Turner's is a must-read for me!
    I'd love to be entered into the drawing. Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I would love to be included. It sounds like a good book to read. Thanks!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oooh, please throw my name in the hat for the ARC. I'm a big fan of Graceling and Fire, and this book sounds like a great read!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I agree with Sandy - any book that fans of Megan Whalen Turner would like is a book that I need to read. Thanks for holding this giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I agree with Sandy - any book that fans of Megan Whalen Turner would like is a book that I need to read. Thanks for holding this giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Count me in for the giveaway, please. I saw the trailer for this and thought it sounded really good.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds like just my cuppa. I'd love to be included in the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I kept wondering if the comparisons to Cashore and Turner were good ones. Now I REALLY want to read it! Count me in.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Count me in; I could use a good fantasy read. (Though, I swear, what I really need to do is reread The Thief, et all...)

    ReplyDelete
  10. oh yes please! I've wanted to read this for some time now.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Sounds like a good read. I love Megan Whalen Turner.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Katarina DeshotelMarch 10, 2010 at 3:06 PM

    Ooooh! I haven't commented before, but I'm always checking your blog for book recommendations which have always turned out pleasantly for me. =) I discovered Eugenides thanks to you. I need something great to hold me over until the conspiracy of kings comes out (gah!) so please include me in the drawing!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Katarina DeshotelMarch 10, 2010 at 3:07 PM

    oops forgot: katarinaishere@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  14. a book recommended with kristen cashore and megan whalen turner in the same sentence is one I would love to read. please enter me! yhaduong(at)yahoo(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  15. Pick me! Pick me! *jumping up and down and waving arms madly* This book has been on my wishlist since I first heard about it in December.

    kmartin802 AT gmail DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  16. Charlotte, no need to enter me but I just wanted to say I'm so happy you enjoyed MISTWOOD and that it came at the right time. :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. Sounds like a great read!!

    charlotteg86 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  18. I know I'd love this book from your review. Now I really want to read it. I loved Graceling and Fire. Thanks for sharing your copy.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Me, too! Leah is a member of the Enchanted Inkpot fantasy writers' blog I belong to, and her book is on my wish list.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I've been keeping my eye on this one. I have a thing for shapeshifter stories.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Thanks for the review! I'm looking forward to reading Mistwood.

    Christy

    ReplyDelete
  22. I'd love to read this. I'm not a devotee of Kristin Cashore, but I do adore Megan Whalen Turner. I've heard good things about this book, and am looking forward to it.

    ReplyDelete
  23. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  24. This looks very interesting :D Please enter me in the drawing. Or random picker program type thing. This seems like it's definitely the type of book I enjoy.

    ReplyDelete
  25. This sounds pretty good! I'm a fan of MWT and I'm starting Graceling right now, so this sounds right up my alley. I'd like to enter the drawing thingamajigger, please :)

    ReplyDelete
  26. Good heavens, yes, even if it's only slightly like a MWT book, I wants to reads it! And Kristin Cashore is good too. Count me in!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Here via Sounis. Mistwood is already in my wish list because of Angie's post too! :) I'd love to be included in the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  28. I'd love to be part of the draw! You sold me on the book with your explanation. I'm looking forward to reading it (regardless of whether I win!).

    ReplyDelete
  29. Nobody holds a candle to MWT. Or do they? I'd love to find out. Count me in.

    ReplyDelete
  30. Another racing over here from Sounis. (Said there the giveaway was worldwide, and hoping it's true!) Sounds great.

    ReplyDelete
  31. Stupid me. *You* are the one who posted on Sounis. Obviously should have drunk more tea before touching keyboard.

    ReplyDelete

Free Blog Counter

Button styles