Fantasy and Science Fiction for Kids--this Sunday's round-up of posts from around the blogs

Another week, another round-up! This one has Exciting Awards News down at the bottom, and lots of other good stuff from you, the blogging community. Please let me know if I missed your post!

The Reviews:

Amazing Greek Myths of Wonder and Blunder, by Michael Townsend, at Great Kid Books

Astrosaurs: The Sabre Tooth Secret, by Steve Cole, at Nayu's Reading Corner

The Boy at the End of the World, by Greg van Eekhout, at Fuse #8

Casper Candlewacks in Death by Pigeon, by Ivan Brett, at The Book Zone (for boys)

Cinderella, Ninja Warrior, by Maureen McGowan, at The O.W.L. and Books at Midnight, where you can also find Sleeping Beauty, Vampire Slayer.

The Dark City (Relic Master Book 1) at The Book Smugglers and Charlotte's Library (where I'm giving away two copies; ends Monday)

The Emerald Atlas, by John Stephens, at Mudie Kids, Bewitched Bookworms, and at Books and Movies

The Extraordinary and Unusual Adventures of Horatio Lyle, by Catherine Webb, at Bart's Bookshelf.

Fantasy Baseball, by Alan Gratz, at TheHappyNappyBookseller

Foundling, by D.M. Cornish, at Just Booking Around

The Gates, by John Connolly, at Books From Mars

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, by Catherynne Valente, at Book Aunt and Ex Libris

Jacob Wonderbar and the Cosmic Space Kapow, by Nathan Bransford, at Musings of a Book Addict

Juniper Berry, by M.P. Kozlowsky, at Kid Lit Frenzy

Kat, Incorrigible, by Stephanie Burgis, at books4yourkids

The Midnight Gate, by Helen Stringer, at Book Aunt and Charlotte's Library

Reckless, by Cornelia Funke, at Book Nut (audiobook review)

The Resisters, by Eric Nylund, at Ms. Yingling Reads

The Rotten Adventures of Zachary Ruthless, by Alan Woodrow, at Just Deb

Scary School, by Derek the Ghost, at Books Kids Like

The Shadow Hunt, by Katherine Langrish, at Random Musings of a Bibliophile

The Silver Door, by Holly Lisle, at Books and Movies

Spellbinder, by Helen Stringer, at Wicked Awesome Books

A Tale of Two Castles, by Gail Carson Levine, at Random Musings of a Bibliophile

Throne of Fire, by Rick Riordan, at Becky's Book Reviews

The Underland Chronicles books 3-5, by Suzanne Collins, at Just Booking Around

Webster's Leap, by Eileen Dunlop, at Charlotte's Library

A World Without Heros (The Beyonders, Book 1), by Brandon Mull, at Karissa's Reading Review

Zita the Space Girl, by Ben Hatke, at Books & Other Thoughts

Authors and Interviews

Anne Ursu (Breadcrumbs) talks about her childhood reading at There's a Book

Sherwood Smith (Crown Duel) talks about the Harry Potter phenomena at Book View Cafe

M.P. Kozlowsky (Juniper Berry) at Mundie Kids

Maureen McGowan (Cinderella, Ninja Warrior) at The O.W.L.

Clete Barrett Smith (Aliens on Vacation) at Cynsations

Other good stuff:

Stacy Whitman, of Tu Books (a Lee and Low Imprint) talks about diversity in sci fi and fantasy for young readers in a not-to-be-missed three part series that begins here.

At The Enchanted Inkpot, there's a discussion of Tween books (with fantasy books, natch, being the ones discussed!)

The Lost Years of Merlin, by T.A. Barron, might be coming to the big screen

Lots of award news:

I Shall Wear Midnight, by Terry Pratchett, wins the Andre Norton Award (the YA Nebula). Here are the books it was up against:

Ship Breaker
by Paolo Bacigalupi (Little, Brown)
White Cat by Holly Black (McElderry)
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic Press; Scholastic UK)
Hereville: How Mirka Got Her Sword by Barry Deutsch (Amulet)
The Boy from Ilysies by Pearl North (Tor Teen)
A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner (Greenwillow)
Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld (Simon Pulse; Simon & Schuster UK)

And here's the full list of winners.

The 2010 Aurealis Awards (which recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writer) have also been announced:
  • BEST YOUNG ADULT NOVEL: Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey
  • BEST YOUNG ADULT SHORT STORY: "A Thousand Flowers" by Margo Lanagan
  • BEST CHILDREN'S FICTION(told primarily through pictures): The Boy and the Toy, Sonya Hartnett (writer) & Lucia Masciullo (illustrator)
  • BEST CHILDREN'S FICTION (told primarily through words): The Keepers, Lian Tanner
And continuing on with awards--

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature "honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia."

Here's this year's shortlist:
  • Catherine Fisher, Incarceron and Sapphique (Dial)
  • Terry Pratchett, I Shall Wear Midnight (HarperCollins)
  • Polly Shulman, The Grimm Legacy (Putnam Juvenile)
  • Heather Tomlinson, Toads and Diamonds (Henry Holt)
  • Megan Whalen Turner, The Queen’s Thief series, consisting of The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings (Greenwillow Books)
End of awards section.

Just a reminder that I post lists of new releases in sci fi/fantasy for kids twice a month--here's the second half of May edition.

And finally, The Spectacle is closing up its shop. I've very much enjoyed their two and half year's worth of postings--so thank you, very much, Spectacle Bloggers, and good luck in all your ventures!


  1. As a fellow book lover, I just want to say I really enjoy your round-ups. They give me the opportunity to check out other books I have heard of within the YA category because they are either never displayed or rarely seen on shelves. Either way, thank you for the great info!!

  2. My sister Rina reviewed the last three books of Suzanne Collin's Underland series, at Just Booking Around. Also, she invited me to join the blog, and I reviewed D. M. Cornish's Foundling. It's marketed as YA, but I'd feel fine giving it to most middle-graders.

  3. Wow, what a great round-up. I'll have to check out Stacey Whitman's post. And I'm sad about The Spectacle. I enjoyed them too.


Free Blog Counter

Button styles